Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Keywords and Subject Headings
Grit (can also be used as a subject heading)
Positive psychology (can also be used as a subject heading)
Mentoring in education
College teacher-student relationships
Educational counseling - Universities & colleges
Resilience (Personality trait)
Combine keywords and subject headings into different combinations to retrieve different results.
How Coaching (and Mentoring) Works
Have any Questions or Suggestions?
Please feel free to contact us with any feedback or recommendations. We want this LibGuide to really help you in your Coaching and Mentoring.
Welcome to the Faculty Advising/Coaching and Mentoring Home Page
The intention of creating this LibGuide is twofold: First, it will assist those Coaches and Mentors to learn more about what is new and trending in the arena of faculty advisement. Second, this site has a host of articles, e-books, books and useful resources in assisting those persons who wish to further expand their wealth of information on this topic, including piloting ideas based on best practices, conducting research in the area of advisement and coaching and mentoring, and collecting data to further improve this fairly new college concept.
Please locate the general blue tabs listed above. They mostly contain an annotated bibliography on each of the highlighted topics. Also, note what information may be found in each:
Home: This section is what you are presently viewing. It includes the column in the middle with the intention and navigation of the cite, and below this column is a video that provides information on logging in to the MDC databases, the right-hand column with the contact information of the persons involved in building this cite, and on the left column, keywords to assist the participant in finding articles when performing a literature review. It also includes all the tabs for easy access.
Action Research: This tab includes information on what action research is and how you can use it in your professional development. According to the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD), Action Research "is a disciplined process of inquiry conducted by and for those taking the action. The primary reason for engaging in action research is to assist the “actor” in improving and/or refining his or her actions"
Coaching and Mentoring Basics: This includes an annotated bibliography of articles containing information on the basic information of coaching and mentoring, faculty advisement, and the like. Coaching and Mentoring is defined as:
‘Mentoring relates primarily to the identification and nurturing of potential for the whole person. It can be a long-term relationship, where the goals may change but are always set by the learner. The learner owns both the goals and the process. Feedback comes from within the mentee – the mentor helps them to develop insight and understanding through intrinsic observation, that is, becoming more aware of their own experiences.’
‘Coaching relates primarily to performance improvement (often short-term) in a specific skills area. The goals, or at least the intermediate or sub-goals, are typically set with or at the suggestion of the coach. While the learner has primary ownership of the goal, the coach has primary ownership of the process. In most cases, coaching involves direct extrinsic feedback (i.e. the coach reports to the coachee what he or she has observed).’
Meggison and Clutterbuck, Techniques for Coaching and Mentoring
Faculty Learning Communities: This tab includes articles on the various ways of creating Faculty Learning Communities (FLCs)
Resources and Helpful Links: This tab has a host of valuable information and includes:
- APA style of writing
- Best Practices and Models from a national perspective
- Resource links for conducting research, writing and preparing an article for publishing, MDC's policy on using student data, along with the criteria
- Helpful links and resources on advisement and coaching and mentoring
- Sample APA paperrs
- Ted Talk on Mentoring
Suggested Databases for Research: This tab includes suggestions on the main databases that will provide information on coaching and mentoring. It includes the articles, books, e-books and journals
How to Log into the Databases
Contact Us: Faculty
Dr. Miriam Frances Abety
Dr. Elodie Billionniere