Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS 1106: Research Strategies - Recommended Databases

 

Library Locations and Hours

Librarians are available to assist with research needs and provide guidance on the use of resources.

Labs and Tutoring

Labs and Courtyards house state-of-the-art technology and software, as well as knowledgeable tutors that can provide face-to-face instruction in a variety of courses such as math, writing, reading, business, natural science, health sciences, speech and test preparation, and more.


North Campus Librarians

Angel Hernandez

aherna19@mdc.edu

Christine Schwendel

cschwend@mdc.edu

Maria Casado

mcasado@mdc.edu

Merlene Nembhard

mnembhar@mdc.edu

Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday: 7:30 am to 9:00 pm

Fridays: 7:30 am to 5:00 pm

Saturdays: 8:00 am to 1:00 pm

Contact Information

(305) 237-1142

Room 2101

Resources for Writing

Style Guides / Tutorials:

Citation Generators:

Mobile Apps:

Handouts:

Tutorials:

More Resources:

What Are Databases and Why Do You Need Them?

Okay, so you're thinking, "Can't I just Google the information I need?" Of course you can! Google is awesome, but a library database is a different kind of research tool that can help you get access to reliable sources that may not be freely available on the web.

This brief video explains the advantages of library databases:

Not sure which databases to try? The Recommended Databases page will help you select the best resources for your research paper topics.

If you don't yet have a topic and need some ideas, these resources can help.

You've chosen a topic, but before you begin searching for sources, take some time to plan a strategy. The following resources can help.

It's time to dive in and start searching for information on your topic. Here are some tips for searching more effectively.

There's so much information out there. How do you decide which sources to use for your research assignment? How do you know if the sources you've found are reliable? These links can help.

Research Process in 5 Steps

RESEARCH PROCESS IN 5 STEPS

1. Identify and develop your topic

  • State your topic as a question: _______________________________
  • What type of paper is it? Persuasive    Informative   Narrative    Other:_____
  • Identify main concepts and develop a list of keywords from your topic statement :

_____________________________________________________

·Thesis statement: ______________________________________

2. Identify the search tools you will need to find information on your topic

  • MDC Libraries Catalog for books, media, and other physical resources owned by the MDC Libraries
  • MDC Library Databases that best suit your subject or topic: __________________
  • Use specialized Google services such as Google Scholar to locate specialized reports and research materials on your topic: ________________________________________________________

3. Develop a list of keywords and concepts

  • _________________________________________________________

4. Evaluate what you find

  • Carefully look at author credentials, date of publication, editor and publisher to determine authority and credibility of source.
  • Carefully examine the intended audience of the source to determine if it is the appropriate source for your needs.
  • Examine the content for obvious errors, objectivity, support documentation, and coverage of topic.
  • Understand the difference between scholarly journals, professional literature, and popular sources so you know how to use them

5. Manage what you find by using the appropriate citation format and/or citation manager and avoid plagiarism

  • Understand how the basic elements of the format style such as MLA citation format (Purdue Owl)

Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT

Diving into Research - Kanopy Database

To log in: 

All users will be able to log in to library resources exclusively with their MDC username and password.