Open Educational Resources at MDC: Overview: English & Communication

Condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student needs to successfully compose college-level work, including the basics of composition, grammar, and research. Great for any beginning writing students or as reference for advanced students.

Provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.

Provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.

Allows students to develop effective written communication strategies specifically for the workplace. From idea gathering to drafting to delivery, this course will prepare students to write a variety of documents, including memos, letters, and reports, tailored to professional audiences.

Provides resources for first-year college students on the path to academic and life success. Time management, effective methods of communication, career exploration, and practical tools for academic achievement are a few of the topic areas covered.

Designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities.

Contains an anthology of readings for Composition I course.

Introduces students to the writing process as a means of developing ideas into clear, correct, and effective writing.

A reader and rhetoric that champions the possibilities of student writing. The textbook uses actual student writing to exemplify effective writing strategies, celebrating dedicated college writing students to encourage and instruct their successors: the students in your class.

Composition I focuses on principles of writing, critical reading and essay composition using rhetorical styles common in college-level writing (narrative, example/illustration, compare/contrast, cause-and-effect, argument).

Teaches research skills by emphasizing the development of advanced analytical/critical reading skills, proficiency in investigative research, and the writing of persuasive prose including documented and researched argumentative essays.

Introduces various aspects of student and academic life on campus and prepares readers to thrive as a successful college student. Contains true-to-life short stories from actual State University of New York (SUNY) students, employees, and alumni. The advice they share includes a variety of techniques to help students cope with the demands of college.

Presents a different way of teaching writing to students. The method is “writing with the teacher present” or simply students doing ALL their writing in class. This way of teaching writing is more like athletic practice than class. Students practice writing while the coach (professor or instructor) was around to break steps down into smaller and smaller elements and to help them learn the skills “in real time.

This book is useful to teachers who want to convey their passion for literature to their students. After an introductory chapter that offers advice on how to read (and teach) literature, the book consists of a series of chapters that examine individual literary works ranging from The Iliad to Charles Dickens’ Bleak House. These chapters can not substitute for reading the actual works. Rather they are intended to help students read those works.

Designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as a practical guide for students struggling to bring their writing up to the level expected of them by their professors and instructors.

Focuses on the organization, development, and refinement of technical communications. Internal and external communications, including letters, memos, reports, and presentations are included.

An interactive, multimedia text that introduces students to reading and writing at the college level.

Free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.

Provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.

Designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes. It provides a friendly, down-to-earth introduction to professors’ goals and expectations, demystifying the norms of the academy and how they shape college writing assignments.

Topics in this volume include academic writing, how to interpret writing assignments, motives for writing, rhetorical analysis, revision, invention, writing centers, argumentation, narrative, reflective writing, Wikipedia, patchwriting, collaboration, and genres.

Topics in this volume include rhetorical situation, collaboration, documentation styles, weblogs, invention, writing assignment interpretation, reading critically, information literacy, ethnography, interviewing, argument, document design, and source integration.