LibGuides: Dual Enrollment Student and Faculty Resources: Research & Project Resources

Quick Tips

Accessing the MDC Databases

Access the databases available through MDC by selecting More Databases on the MDC Learning Resources Library webpage.
Search the databases by subject.
Try different keywords and add more than one in order to narrow down or focus the results.
Be sure to add the following filters to your searches, Full Text and Scholarly or Peer Reviewed when applicable.

Logging In

Borrower ID - Student number (located on your MDC ID or class schedule)
PIN - last four digits of Borrower ID / Student number

Researching

When conducting your search, remember the more keywords you use the more focused your search will be and you'll only have a few specific articles to look through rather than thousands.
Always select Full Text from the filters when available. This is usually located below the search fields where you enter your keywords.

Useful Tools

Take advantage of tools such as:
- E-mail to send articles to yourself so as not to loose them.
- Cite will generate a citation for the article in a variety of styles, including MLA. Simply copy and paste into your References.

Researching

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative, and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data; The tools to actively use those images; and A restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users. Account registration required.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

AtoZdatabases: Search Jobs, Businesses, or Mailing Lists This link opens in a new window
AtoZdatabases is a premier job search, reference, and mailing list database that includes 30 million business profiles and 220 million residents. It is ideal for sales leads, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends & relatives, and much more!

Funded by: College
Business Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Provides fast, convenient access to a multitude of outstanding sources from The New York Times Business Section and The Wall Street Journal to magazines and scholarly journals. Users will find feature articles, product reviews, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and conferences, and more.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.

Funded by: State Library of Florida

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - More than 4,000 media sources including the new FIND A TOPIC search page function. Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
(CQ Press) - Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs, and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Offers a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
New York Times - Current (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local & state news, science, sports, arts & entertainment, and business & finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
(SIRS) - Integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases by ProQuest - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Teacher Reference Center (TRC) contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians and is a FREE resource offered by EBSCO Publishing to the library and education communities. This bibliographic database provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
(ABC CLIO) - Daily Life Online provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the landmark Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, Greenwood Daily Life Online is supported by an active publishing program to ensure an ever-expanding and updated content base.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books & encyclopedias and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times®, covering the period from 1851-2014.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly a SAGE database. This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Texts coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals, as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
General Science Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Periodical coverage includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Computer Science(Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Funded by: State Library of Florida

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features, and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.

Funded by: College

NBC Learn
Rich, dynamic, and innovative resource that provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities.

Project Tools & Resources

Office 365 Student Advantage

Collaborate on a project with your group anytime, anywhere. Office 365 allows you to create, edit, and view files online while fellow group members do the same. Access the latest versions of Office Suite with your MDC student email account, including Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, and more.

Link to Office 365: https://myoffice.mdc.edu

PowerPoint and Office 365

Writing tutors and EnTec tutors are trained and ready to help with PowerPoint questions.

Reading List

Research: B2+ (Collins Academic Skills ) by Anneli Williams
Call Number: LB1050 .W721 2013
ISBN: 9780007507115
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Explores how to listen to your body to reduce stress and anxiety in all areas of your life and how to enjoy life more by bringing mindfulness into everyday actions.
100 Questions (and Answers) about Research Methods by Neil J. Salkind
Call Number: H62 .S3195 2012
ISBN: 9781412992039
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
An affecting and hope-filled posthumous collection of essays and stories from the talented young Yale graduate whose title essay captured the world's attention in 2012 and turned her into an icon for her generation.
Civic Engagement Pedagogy in the Community College: Theory and Practice by Emily Schnee (Editor); Alison Better (Editor); Martha Clark Cummings (Editor)
Call Number: JC337 .C5325 2016
ISBN: 9783319229454
Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Research Design by John W. Creswell
Call Number: H62 .C6963 2014
ISBN: 9781452226095
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
The Oxford Guide to Library Research by Thomas Mann
Call Number: Z710 .M23 2015
ISBN: 9780199931040
Publication Date: 2015-03-27
Microsoft Office 365: in Practice, 2019 Edition by Randy Nordell
Call Number: HF5548.4.M525 N66 2019
ISBN: 9781260079906
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
Shelly Cashman Series Microsoft Office 365 & Office 2019 Introductory by Steven M. Freund; Mary Z. Last; Philip J. Pratt; Susan L. Sebok; Misty E. Vermaat; Sandra Cable; Ellen Monk; Joy Starks
Call Number: HF5548.4.M525 C33 2020
ISBN: 9780357026434
Publication Date: 2019-03-05