LibGuides: SLS 1106 Life Skills Collection: Diverse Voices

Featured Books: Diverse Voices

The Activist's Handbook: Winning Social Change in the 21st Century by Randy Shaw
ISBN: 0520274059
Publication Date: 2013
Shaw details how activists can best use the Internet and social media, and analyzes the strategic strengths and weaknesses of rising 21st century movements for immigrant rights, marriage equality, and against climate change. Shaw also highlights increased student activism towards fostering greater social justice in the 21st century.
Microaggressions in Everyday Life by Derald Wing Sue
ISBN: 9780470594131
Publication Date: 2010
This book insightfully looks at the various kinds of microaggressions and their psychological effects on both perpetrators and their targets. Thought provoking and timely, Dr. Sue suggests realistic and optimistic guidance for combating - and ending - microaggressions in our society.
The Social Justice Advocate's Handbook: A Guide to Gender by Samuel Killermann (Artist, Cover Design by, Designed by, Drawings by, Illustrator)
Call Number: HQ21 .K56 2013
ISBN: 9780989760201
Publication Date: 2013
An approachable guide to the topic of gender, including information for gender exploration, social justice how-tos, practical resources, and fun graphics & comics.
Whistling Vivaldi: and other clues to how stereotypes affect us by Claude M. Steele
Call Number: HM1096 .S736 2010 Life Skills
ISBN: 9780393062496
Publication Date: 2010
Through dramatic personal stories, Claude Steele shares the experiments and studies that show, again and again, that exposing subjects to stereotypes impairs their performance in the area affected by the stereotype. Whistling Vivaldi offers insight into how we form our senses of identity and ultimately lays out a plan for mitigating the negative effects of "stereotype threat" and reshaping American identities.
Privilege, Power, and Difference by Allan G. Johnson
Call Number: HN90.E4 J64 2006
ISBN: 9780072874891
Publication Date: 2005
This brief book is a groundbreaking tool for students and non-students alike to examine systems of privilege and difference in our society. Written in an accessible, conversational style, Johnson links theory with engaging examples in ways that enable readers to see the underlying nature and consequences of privilege and their connection to it.
I'm Judging You: The Do-Better Manual by Luvvie Ajayi
Call Number: PN6231.C142 A43 2016
ISBN: 9781627796064
Publication Date: 2016
Through humorous essays that dissect our cultural obsessions and calls out bad behavior in our increasingly digital, connected lives, Luvvie Ajayi doles out hard truths and offers a road map for bringing some "act right" into our lives, social media, and popular culture.

Featured Books: Identities

In building this section of our Life Skills Collection, we have strived to be inclusive, to meet and address the needs of the many diverse identities represented on the University of Puget Sound campus. The resources featured here are only a small representation of the many individuals and communities we serve. To discover more identity-based resources, visit the collection at Collins Library or talk with a librarian!

Please send recommendations for either individual books or topical areas to Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian at Collins Library.

College for students with disabilities : we do belong by Pavan John Antony, editor.; Stephen M. Shore, editor.
Call Number: LC4818.38 .C65 2015
ISBN: 9781849057325
Publication Date: 2015
Shares the personal stories of individuals with disabilities who describe both the challenges and successes of their time in higher education, with a major section on the findings of broad ranging research into the experiences of such students.
Dear White People by Justin Simien; Ian O'Phelan (Illustrator)
Call Number: PN6231.W444 S56 2014
ISBN: 9781476798097
Publication Date: 2014
Right out of college, Justin Simien wrote a screenplay about the nuanced experiences of four black students on a predominantly white college campus. The film, Dear White People, garnered a Sundance Award for "Breakthrough Talent". Channeling the sensibility of the film into this book, Simien offers a silly-yet-authoritative handbook to help the curious and confused navigate racial microaggressions in their daily lives.
The Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life by John Baez; Jennifer Howd; Rachel Pepper; Princeton Review Staff
Call Number: LB2343.32 .B225 2007
ISBN: 9780375766237
Publication Date: 2007
Including tons of student testimonials and dozens of parent tips, this book offers no-nonsense guidance to LGBTQ students, their families, and allies on how to make the most of their college experience.
Trans-Kin by Eleanor A. Hubbard; Cameron T. Whitley
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T726 2012
ISBN: 9780615630670
Publication Date: 2012
Trans-Kin is a collection of stories from significant others, family members, friends and allies of transgender persons. This guide also includes a comprehensive glossary, list of frequently asked questions and resources including books, videos and organizations--all of which promote awareness, insight and understanding of the transgender community.
What Does It Mean to Be White?: developing white racial literacy by Robin J. DiAngelo
Call Number: HT1575 .D53 2012
ISBN: 9781433111167
Publication Date: 2012
Speaking as a white person to other white people, Dr. DiAngelo clearly and compellingly takes readers through an analysis of white socialization. She describes how race shapes the lives of white people, explains what makes racism so hard for whites to see, identifies common white racial patterns, and speaks back to popular white narratives that work to deny racism.

How to change the world?

Web Resources

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
A major American non-profit organization whose mission is to protect the individual rights and liberties of individuals. Also works to extend rights to groups that have traditionally been denied their rights, including people of color; women; lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender people; prisoners; and people with disabilities.
Disability.gov
A federal government website for comprehensive information about disability-related programs, services, policies, laws and regulations. Includes information on civil rights, education, employment, and health.
DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology)
Based at the University of Washington in Seattle, the DO-IT Center promotes awareness and accessibility issues to empower people with disabilities through technology and education.
Learning Disabilities Association of Washington
Promotes services and support to improve the quality of life for individuals and families affected by learning and attentional disabilities and connects individuals with resources in the Puget Sound area.
Human Rights Campaign
A civil rights organization working to achieve gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender equality, providing resources for allies, students and young adults, and families. Topics include adoption, coming out, health and aging, immigration, and marriage.
Campus Pride
A leading national nonprofit organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBTQ students.
Trans Student Educational Resources
TSER is a youth-led organization dedicated to transforming the educational environment for trans and gender nonconforming students through advocacy and empowerment.
National Organization for Women
NOW is the largest organization of feminist activists in the United States, addressing issues like economic equality, reproductive freedom and other women’s health issues, support for the LGBTQIA community, and ending violence against women.
Study in the States
Information and resources from the Department of Homeland Security for individuals who wish to pursue their education in the United States. Includes information about immigration, visas, travelling, and employment.
Student Veterans of America
Provides military veterans with the resources, support, and advocacy needed to succeed in higher education and following graduation.
Project Implicit
Project Implicit is a non-profit organization and a collaboration between an international team of researchers who are interested in implicit social cognition. On their website, they offer a range of association tests designed to help users recognize hidden biases.

SLS 1106 Life Skills Collection: Diverse Voices

Featured Books: Diverse Voices

Featured Books: Identities

How to change the world?

Web Resources

Privilege

Other Resources

I've lived as a man & a woman -- here's what I learned | Paula Stone Williams