Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS 1106 Life Skills Collection: Business Resources

The purpose of the Life Skills Collection is to help you in college and beyond by providing information and resources for essential life skills.

Library Databases for Business

MDC students have free access to over 100 subscription-based databases containing full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and other types of resources. The following databases are useful for finding business related articles

AtoZdatabases
This database is compiled from data sources including thousands of yellow and white page directories, national directory assistance data, annual reports, SEC filings, corporate registers, public records, new business phone numbers, online information, government registrations, legal filings, telephone verification, self-reported business information, and business directories. Sources not only contribute to the core coverage of the database but also enhance our business file to ensure you have the most detailed and precise list of businesses available in the industry.

America's News (NewsBank)
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number

Business Collection (GALE)
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users can learn about the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications that are updated daily.

Business Full Text (EBSCO)
This database provides fast, convenient access to a multitude of outstanding sources—from The New York Times Business Section and The Wall Street Journal to magazines and scholarly journals. Users will find feature articles, product reviews, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, book reviews, reports from associations, societies, trade shows and conferences, and more.

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
This is a fully integrated resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

DemographicsNow (Gale)
Robust and highly-detailed demographic data, ideal for gaining consumer and market insight as you consider opening a business, finding an untapped audience for your products, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and more. Reporting capability allows you to rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports to help you make informed and accurate decisions.


FMG on Demand (Films Media Group)
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

GreenFILE (EBSCO)
This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect provide access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

Regional Business News (EBSCO) 
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.
 
Small Business Resource Center (Gale)
This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more.

Springer eJournal Collection
SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

What is a library database?

What is a library database?

  • Library databases contain information from published works.

                       Examples: Magazine and newspaper articles,encyclopedias and other

                                         reference books.

  • Library databases are searchable.

                      By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine Title, Date, etc.

  • Library databases provide citation information.
  • Library databases often contain full-text articles.
  • You can print or email an entire article.

How is a library database different from a website?

Library databases get their information from professionals or experts in the field.

Web sites can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.

Library databases contain published works where facts are checked

Web site content is not necessarily checked by an expert.

Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you.

Web sites often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation

Library databases can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects.

Web sites often aren’t organized to support student research needs

Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication.

Web sites may not indicate when a page is updated.

​Source: Enoch Pratt Free Library

Accessing Academic Databases