Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Let's Be Changemakers: Library (Licensed) Educational Resources (LER)

An online resource guide addressing social innovation and changemaking education resources

LER Banner

What is LER?

Miami Dade College has a diverse and extensive array of library resources. Library/Licensed Educational Resources (LER) include licensed e-books, online magazines & journals, streaming media, and other online resources. They are available to students and faculty at no additional cost. 

What are library databases?

MDC students have free access to over 100 subscription-based databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources. If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.

Overdrive

Did you know you can download eBooks and audiobooks for free on your phone or tablet? Miami Dade College students can browse, borrow, and enjoy eBooks and audiobooks using Overdrive. Download the app today to start using this digital collection! 

 

EBSCO Audiobook Collection

Check out our new collection of high-quality audiobooks that you can download to your favorite Android or Apple device using the EBSCO Audiobooks mobile app. Visit the EBSCO Audiobooks LibGuide for more information.

 

Swank

Miami Dade College now offers access to streaming movies for academic use, obtained through Swank Digital Campus. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, documentary providers, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of films. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed for their classroom to promote active and engaged learning.

Swank

Kanopy

Enjoy quality, thoughtful entertainment. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos that inspire, enrich and entertain.

Kanopy

 

Films on Demand

Miami Dade College students have unlimited access to acclaimed documentaries, award-winning educational films, and helpful instructional videos. Enjoy these via Films on Demand anytime, anywhere!

Films on Demand

Bates' Visual Guide 

Bates' Visual Guide features head-to-toe and systems physical exam videos completely reshot with an emphasis on clinical accuracy and patient care. 

Bates

Digital Theatre+

Watch the world’s finest theatre productions with Digital Theatre, anywhere, anytime. Find plays and productions, insights into dramatic texts, backstage interviews, and more.

Digital Theatre+

Medici.tv

Medici.tv is an online platform for streaming classical music videos. The Medici.tv catalog provides approximately 1600 films as well as hundreds of events which are broadcast live each year. This database also hosts a rare and exclusive selection of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries and master classes.

Medici

Flipster

Flipster allows you to browse and read your favorite magazines electronically. Flipster is available digitally through LEARNING RESOURCES. Simply sign-in with your MDC account and easily browse online magazines by category. There are online or offline access options available. The Flipster app is available on IOS and Android.

Search the Library Catalog

Use the search box below to find print materials in the MDC Libraries collection.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Books or articles that are not available in your campus library may be borrowed from other campuses via intercampus loan (ICL), or from other institutions via interlibrary loan (ILL). Items that can be obtained from libraries within the Florida College System are usually received within 3 to 7 days. Other items may take up to 2 weeks to be received. The loan period for an ILL item depends on the policy of the lending institution.