Alma Workflows

Adding a Holding from an NZ Record

1. Once you have found a record in the Network Zone, click on the record's Title and then click on Edit at the top right.
   
    
2. Now, click on Add Inventory and select Books (default) from the list. This is the default IZ repository for all holdings, regardless if it's not a book.
   
    
3. Pay close attention. You will have two records open, side by side. The NZ Bib Record on the left and the Holding Record on the right (you can always tell which record is selected, because the title, as seen in the example below, will have a blue background, as opposed to a gray one). On the Holding Record that's on the right, click on the 852 field and then click the ellipsis all the way to the right of that field, and select Open form editor from the list.
   If, for some reason, the Open form editor option does not appear from the drop-down menu, press CTRL + F on your keyboard while having the $852 field selected to manually force it to display.
   
4. Next, fill out the following 6 fields:
   • I. Indicator Field - Tells the system what type of shelving scheme to use. Enter only one digit (you must first delete the hash tag) as follows:
     • 0 = Library of Congress (Used for most type of items)
     • 5 = Shelving Form of Title (Used mostly for popular books)
     • 8 = Other Shelving Form (Used for equipment and other non-standard materials)
   • II. Location Subfield ($a) - Specifies the institution. Always enter FMMD here for Miami Dade College.
   • III. Sublocation or collection ($b) - Specifies the campus. Select your campus from the list. Do not use any location that contains underscores ( _ ) or that starts with the letter Z.
   • IV. Shelving location ($c) - Indicates the collection code to use. Select the desired collection code from the list.
   • (Optional) V. Call number prefix ($k) - Enter the desired prefix here, including subcollections. The syntax for a subcollection is as follows:
     • Main Collection Code in All Caps
     • [Subcollection Code in Brackets]
     • First Five Letters of Title in All Caps (see below for more information about the subfield $h)
     • Example: $k GAME [SWITCH] $h LEGEN
     With the exception of Foreign Language Materials (for which case the subcollection [FORLG] might optionally be used) or the Criterion Collection (for which case the subcollection [CRITE] might optionally be used), a collection code prefix should only be used for special collections that are outside of the CIRC collection as follows:
     • POPAV - Popular Audio Visual (DVDs, BluRays, etc.)
     • POPBK - Popular Books
     • CHILD - Children's Collection (may use a [POPAV] collection code to designate AV materials or [POPUP] for pop-up books)
     • REF - Reference Collection
     • RESER - Reserves Collection
     • AUDBK - AudioBook Collection
     • CLASS - May be used to designate a special class set (use only as a temporary collection)
     • LESBK - Leisure Reading Collection (can also be substituted by MCN collection code for McNaughtons)
     • OVERS - Oversized Book Collection
     • GRAPH - Graphic Novel Collection
     • GAME - Games Collection (use the subcollections below to separate games)
       • [PS3] - PlayStation 3 Games
       • [PS4] - PlayStation 4 Games
       • [XBOX360] - XBOX 360 Games
       • [XBOX1] - XBOX One Games
       • [SWITCH] - Nintendo Switch Games
       • [BOARD] - Tabletop Games
     There are several other special variations or collection codes that are endemic to specific campuses only, such as HOLO. Please reach out to aherna19@mdc.edu if you have specific questions.
   • (Optional) VI. Classification part ($h) - Enter the desired call number here. This field should only be used for Shelving Form of Title, where you would type the first five letters (avoiding definite and indefinite articles such as "the" or "an", etc.) or Other Shelving Form (where you would specify a location, such as "Available at Circulation Desk", for equipment, laptops, tablets, etc.). Do not enter anything here (nor on the $i field) if this is a Library of Congress Shelved item, as this information will be populated from the MARC record.
     Interesting Fact: Although there is a specific field for Shelving form of title ($l), it is not being used at this time.
     
      
5. When done, click on the little arrow next to the Save button and select Save and Release Record from the list. It is very important that you always choose this option so that the record is released. If you simply save, the record will be stuck in edit mode in your account and no one else will be able to edit it until you release it !
   
    
6. Important: Now, you will also need to release the NZ Bib Record you have currently open by clicking on Record Actions and selecting Release Record from the list. This is extremely important, otherwise, the record will remain locked under your account for all institutions in the State of Florida.
   
    
7. Press Yes when asked to confirm.
   
    
8. The title should now appear in the Institution Zone when you search for it. If it doesn't, verify the steps above and try again.
    
9. When you find the title, click on the Holdings button.
   
    
10. Now, verify that all of the information is correct and then click on ellipsis button for your campus holding record. Select View items from the list to add the item.