LibGuides: Resources for Excellence Across the Curriculum: Research Strategies

Learning Resources

Locations and Hours

Librarians are available to assist with research needs and provide guidance on the use of resources.

Learning Resources Labs and Courtyards house state-of-the-art technology and software, as well as knowledgeable tutors that can provide face-to-face and virtual instruction in a variety of courses such as math, writing, reading, business, natural science, health sciences, speech, test preparation, and more.

North Campus & Meek Center Librarians

Christine Schwendel	cschwend@mdc.edu
Edwin Gilmore	egilmore@mdc.edu
Maria Casado	mcasado@mdc.edu
Merlene Nembhard	mnembhar@mdc.edu
Simone Williams	swilli5@mdc.edu

Hours of Operation Monday - Thursday: 7:30 am to 9:00 pm Fridays: 7:30 am to 5:00 pm Saturdays: 8:00 am to 1:00 pm	Contact Information (305) 237-1142 Room 2101

How to Access Academic Databases

Databases & Articles

Frequently Used Databases

Earth & Environmental Science eCollection (Springer) This link opens in a new window
(Springer) - SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

Funded by: College
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Full text periodicals, along with article abstracts and indexing, covering business, education, science, social sciences, art, humanities, and popular magazines.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.

Funded by: College
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition, and professional health care publications.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Research Quiz LIS2004

Video Databases

Swank

Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.

Kanopy

The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies,Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.

Films on Demand

Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Diving into Research - Kanopy Database

DIVING INTO RESEARCH

To log in:

Log in to the library resources with your MDC username and password.

Research Strategies

What Are Databases? [VIDEO]
Okay, so you're thinking, "Can't I just Google the information I need?" Of course you can, but a database is a different kind of research tool that can help you get access to reliable sources that may not be freely available on the web.
This brief video explains the advantages of library databases:

Tutorial:

Picking Your Topic IS Research [VIDEO]
North Carolina State University

Books & eBooks

Search the Library Catalog - Find books, articles, videos and more

To log in:
Log in to the library resources with your MDC username and password.

Academic eBooks

To log in:

Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to login.
Click here to reset your password if you forgot it.

Popular fiction and non-fiction ebooks

To log in:

Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to login.
Click here to reset your password if you forgot it.

APA - Transitioning from 6th to 7th Edition

APA How to Write an Abstract/Proposal

Abstract and Keywords Guide

MLA 9th Edition - What's New

What’s New in the Ninth Edition of the MLA Handbook (Spring 2021) • Expanded, in-depth guidance on how to use the MLA template of core elements to create works-cited-list entries that shows what each core element is, where to find it, and how to style it • Clarification that element names are not always literal and can apply to a range of situations (e.g., the Publisher element can refer to the publisher of a book or a sponsoring organization like the theater company that put on a play) • A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations • A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language • A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries listed by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more • Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism • A new chapter on formatting a research paper • New, expanded guidelines on spelling, punctuation, capitalization, and more a new chapter on using notes in MLA style

Formatting & Style

Introduction to and Citing in MLA Style, 9th Edition

In-Text and Works Cited Citations

Formatting your Works Cited Page

Citation Tools

Free Online Citation Creation Tools

Direct Citation Tools from the Library Databases

Use these tools cautiously. Double-check results. You may need to make some changes.

These are free tools that assist you in creating in-text citations and citations for your references page.

Did you know that all of our Library Databases usually provide you with an automatic citation? Just click on "Citation Tools" or "Cite" and select the citation style you need!

Gale Database Example:

ProQuest Database Example:

EBSCO Database Example:

Resources for Excellence Across the Curriculum

Learning Resources

Locations and Hours

Labs and Tutoring

North Campus & Meek Center Librarians

Hours of Operation

Contact Information

How to Access Academic Databases

Databases & Articles

Frequently Used Databases

Research Quiz LIS2004

Video Databases

Diving into Research - Kanopy Database

Research Strategies

Tutorial:

Suggested Topics:

Books & eBooks

APA - Transitioning from 6th to 7th Edition

APA How to Write an Abstract/Proposal

MLA 9th Edition - What's New

Formatting & Style

Introduction to and Citing in MLA Style, 9th Edition

In-Text and Works Cited Citations

Formatting your Works Cited Page

Citation Tools

Email, Chat, or Text a Librarian